This movie reminded me a lot of “Y Tu Mamá También”, in that after it was over, I thought to myself, “why did i just watch this slice-of-life movie?”  From the very beginning, I could feel the tension and almost see the heavy cloud of all the characters’ emotions.  The music augmented the movie very nicely, and P. Diddy’s performance was pretty good.  I felt so bad for the little black kid, largely because I was like that as a child.  Only in my case, i was adding milk to my ice cream and being yelled at from my Japanese father in a very thick accent.  Nice to see all us chubbies share the same kind of history.  Hehe.  I find it weird, now on retrospect, that the hit-and-run killer of the boy was never solved…hmm.

I wasn’t entirely convinced Halle Berry deserved an Oscar, as at times it seemed she was simply “acting”; however, she did do a decent job.  I kept thinking that Peter Boyle (Thorton’s racist father) could’ve been a more aggressive character, as I think that would’ve made things more heated. I was extremely dissapointed to see Heath leave us so early in the film, as seeing him act in any movie is always a delight.

Besides having the talented Heath Ledger with his Southern accent, this movie had a touch of BrokeBack Mountain to it, in that there were a lot of silences and heavy but meaningful moments shared between pretty much all the characters.

“You must have a lot of love for him”

“No, I don’t.  But he’s my father, so that’s that.”

That’s a topic you don’t see touched very often in movies- taking care of your parents even when they’re bitter and a strain on your social life.

Definitely worth a watch; I really want to discuss this movie with others to get their viewpoints on the movie’s message and just how they interpreted the movie overall.  The ending tied things up, and yet it didn’t; you were squirming when Berry found out about Thorton’s deeper connection to her life, and her subtle expression in the end gave you just a spray or hint of happy ending.

