Started listening to Steven K. Scott’s Mentored by a Millionaire book on CD/learning packet last week.  I was hesitant about this resource, because the CD cover looks very gimicky, as does the intro & transition music.  But after listening to one track of Steven Scott speaking, he had me convinced that he was a very grounded, factual person, who wanted to MENTOR me in becoming successful.

He starts off by saying that his issue with other motivational speakers is that they are merely cheerleaders; they don’t give you the specific TOOLS needed to become successful.  So naturally, people get discouraged a week later when they realize they haven’t gotten any closer to their goals.  Scott states that he will teach you the skills needed to become successful, and that it’s up to you to use them.  He gave evidence of this by actually teaching me a new, fun skill: photographic memory.  He teaches you how to have a photographic memory by telling you this wacky story involving random objects, but they are connected in a, albeit random, story.  That way, you can remember the objects easily.  It’s a bit more in-depth than that, but hopefully you get the idea.

Scott then goes on to explain that there is a workbook involved in this package, so I was a bit worried about not having that.  But for the first exercise – Determining your personality type – I easily found the exercise online.  So I’m confident I’ll find the rest online too, and if I don’t, I’ll still be able to learn a lot.

Today I started the first session (there are about 7, I think) – Determining your Personality Type.  The test explains that there are four basic personality types: Lions, Otters, Gold Retrievers, & Beavers.  Each one has their own set of characteristics, strengths, & weaknesses.  I was actually fairly even across the board, but my two dominant personality types are Golden Retriever & Beaver.  Which, in a nutshell, means I’m loyal & methodic.

Tomorrow I’ll find out how to use my personality strengths & weaknesses to my advantage.  I’m psyched!

Scott explains that some sessions take longer to implement, so he encourages you to take your time.  Which is great, because then I’ll have time to read/listen to other wealth-building resources, like The Power of NOW, by Eckhart Tolle.  I’m finding I have trouble living in the present, and living in the prsent can be a valuable foundation to have in order to identify opportunities and be relaxed.

