God, haven’t written a movie review in a long, long, LONG time.  Since 2008.  I’ve been meaning to write a review ever since I saw Black Snake Moan, which is actually a very good movie.  I might review it in the future, but I’m going to review a recently-seen movie, since it’s more fresh in my mind.

Horrible Bosses is a very decent comedy.  I’ve been bitching lately that there aren’t any decent horror or comedy movies out lately.  The Hangover and Bridesmaides were the last two comedies that stick out in my head.  And I haven’t seen a good scary movie since Paranormal Activity.  so, I was very pleased when I saw Horrible Bosses.

What was good about it

How do you describe what aspects of a comedy worked?  I find it a bit difficult.  It was just funny – the dialogue between the calendars, just the right amount of slap-stick, outrageous moments…and yet, all these things can be poor in a bad comedy.  But what makes them work in good comedies?  Probably something larger to ponder and solve for another day…

Each of the 3 bosses was outrageous and extreme and funny, as well as the dialogue between the 3 main characters.  It was crazy to see so many famous faces – Jamie Foxx, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell, Donald Sutherland, etc.  The ending was not cliche, and it was refreshing to see a 3 Stoogies-esque story that didn’t rely solely on slap-stick, and where not everything worked out in the end.

What was bad about it

Charlie Day’s character, Dale, was extremely annoying.  Mostly his high voice.  That’s it, though.  His character was an entertaining bumbling idiot.

 

