It’s been a while since I saw a movie with such great cinematography and minimal dialogue.  Shame was a very nice break from most movies in that there was very little dialogue, but the angles and color of the shots were amazing.  It stars one of my favorite new up and coming actors, Michael Fassbender.  Ever since I saw him in X-Men: First Class, I was drawn in by Fassbender’s comittment to his character (Magneto).  Then, when I saw him in Inglorious Basterds, I was amazed that he was fluent in German.  That’s probably because I love languages, and the fact that someone is a polyglot.

In fact, the whole reason I heard about and saw Hunger, was because I IMDB’d Fassbender and both Hunger & Shame look like great movies.  I can’t wait to see Shame, in which Fassbender plays a sex addict. The director for both Hunger & Shame is Steve McQueen, so I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy Shame.  In fact, now that I think about it, the trailer for Shame had less dialogue in it than the trailer for Hunger.  So might Shame have even less dialogue in it than Hunger?  Can’t wait to find out, either way.

I once read an article on Fassbender comparing him to Brad Pitt, which is funny since I just found out that Steve McQueen is set to direct a movie starring both Pitt and Fassbender – Twelve Years a Slave.  The film is due for 2013 and I cannot wait to see it.

What was good about it

Awesome cinematography – clearly outweighed dialogue, and did an excellent job.

Acting – Fassbender, the protagonist, does an amazing job with relatively few lines.  The other actors do the same.

It was about Ireland.  Need I say more?  (I’m half Irish, for those who didn’t know)

What was bad about it

There were rare instances where I found myself annoyed by long, unspoken shots.  One in particular where a prison guard disinfects and cleans a whole corridor.  “What was the point of that?”, I wondered.  But I’m sure there is some point to it.

