Last week I said I would do the following:

  1. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  2. Find and reach out to other websites centered on interests, and promote myself
  3. Diversify my writing portfolio every day

I’ve been doing very well with checking craigslist every day for writing & modeling jobs.  I applied to some, which felt great, though at the same time, I think, “It would be a lot better if I got a job through a contact, so there would already be a level of trust established”.  Oh well; I guess either method works, as long as I find a job I love.

So my mom & I attended a guest speaker event last night at the Landmark Education office.  The event was centered around breakdowns.  The biggest thing I got from it was that it’s so very important to COMMUNICATE, especially during a breakdown, as your peers can help you spot your blindspots and help you think up new actions to take.

So I made a new commitment out of last night

To have a flexible, part-time job that I love by May 30th

As you all might know, I’m also working hard on becoming a writer full-time, so I am writing every day, in order to diversify my portfolio and just to exercise my creative muscles.  But in the meantime, I figured I’d do admin work, since that’s what I have the most experience in, and it seems like it’s a more stable job than writing.  Ideally, I’d love to work with the entertainment industry (i.e., tv, radio, flim, etc).

A lovely young lady sitting next to me last night recommended I check out BNI.com, which is a global networking organization that organizes regular networking events.  She said I should come to the one in Fremont on Thursdays.  Their website also lists networking groups/events happening in my neighborhood (Kirkland), with all of the events taking place on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.  So, I’ll attend both until I find a part-time job.

Just ordered 250 free business cards from VistaPrint (Christ, I’ve heard that ad so much on Pandora.com).  I’m excited to start using them to promote myself and my skills, and to network with others.

I need to find and reach out to websites centered on film/movies & video games, as I would love to write for free for such industries.

Next week:

  1. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  2. Find and reach out to other websites centered on film/movies, and offer my awesome writing services
  3. Diversify my writing portfolio every day
  4. Attend BNI networking events in Kirkland, then assess whether I should attend those of surrounding areas
