Last week I said I would do the following:

  1. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  2. Find and reach out to other websites centered on film/movies, and offer my awesome writing services
  3. Diversify my writing portfolio every day
  4. Attend BNI networking events in Kirkland, then assess whether I should attend those of surrounding areas

Been doing pretty good about checking craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs.  I applied to some ideal positions.

Great news!  Campus Point (a local recruiting agency for college graduates) called and said they might have a temporary full-time job for me starting Monday!  It’s right by my house and it’s a data entry position for an entertainment-like company, which is great, because I’ve been wanting to work in the entertainment industry.  I should hear today whether I got the job, but even if I didn’t get it, I feel like things are happening.  Plus, I got a phone interview for a technical writing agency this morning, thanks to a great friend from a money management class at a local Center for Spiritual Living.  Woohoo!

Reached out to about 10 movie websites last week and offered my writing services, so I’m hopeful they will see my potential and respond.  I’m excited to reach out to more, as I got really excited at the idea of writing about movies/entertainment.

I started diversifying my writing portfolio even more, after a professional writer recommended I use the site, WritersDigest.com.  I found one section to be particularly helpful – the Weekly Writing Prompts section.  So in an effort to maintain and strengthen my writing muscle, I will start creating content based off of these writing prompts.  I’m looking forward to seeing my imagination and writing style diversify and expand to colorful, gargantuan proportions!  You can see these weekly writing exercises in myWritings section.

I attended my first BNI networking event this week and it was very productive.  It was amazing to see so many driven people helping each other succeed.  Turns out you have to be a member (which costs about $350 per year) to attend the networking events, so I’m not sure I can afford that at this time.  And once a member, you have to attend one meeting per week, which sounds like a big time commitment.  Regardless, I met some great people made some great contacts, so I am really glad I attended the event.  I’ve been questioning whether or not to attend surrounding BNI group events, since I can only go to two events per group before they ask that I decide to become a member.  I think I might attend one in Fremont, since the lady that suggested the BNI attends those ones, so I would have a great connection.

Next week:

  1. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  2. Find and reach out to other websites centered on film/movies, and offer my awesome writing services
  3. Diversify my writing portfolio every day

 

