Last week I said I would do the following:

  1. Finish reading and complet all exercises from What Color Is Your Parachute?
  2. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  3. Find and reach out to other websites centered on film/movies, and offer my awesome writing services
  4. Diversify my writing portfolio every day
  5. Reach out and help at least one person a day (called “giving The Gift” in the book, The Gift)

Well, I did not get that flexible, part-time job by May 31st.  I have been really depressed and angry about it, but last night something really incredible happened.  I was planning on going to a networking event, but a lady from my Landmark Education group had just completed an Advanced Course there and invited me to her graduation the same night.  I told her I wasn’t going to go, since I was already planning on attending this Advanced Course, just as soon as a I got a job, so I didn’t see the need for me to go to her graduation night (where they basically explain why you should take the Advanced Course).

To make a long story short – I changed my mind and decided to attend this Landmark Education Advanced Course introduction night.  Here are two incredible things that happened:

  • Another lady from my group, Dora, offered to pay the deposit of the Advanced Course, so that I could have time to get a job and pay the remainder
  • Christine, the successful realtor who led the Landmark sessions, offered to coach me and help me get a job

I’m excited about taking the Advanced Course in September, but I’m more excited to have Christine as my coach.  I’ve always wanted a money/career mentor, and Christine is one of the best people I could have imagined for the role.  She’s extremely successful AND she’s a Landmark leader, which means she’s very driven and gets shit done.

Christine coached my last Wednesday, which coincided well with a job interview that same day.  Christine brainstormed with me on different actions I could take to achieve my goal.

I want my mom to take the Advanced Course because she really wants to take it.  But I also want financial abundance for her, and I’ve love for her to have a money/career mentor as well.

Didn’t finish What Color Is Your Parachute?, as I discovered there are more in-depth exercises that can only be completed by writing in the book.  So, I’m going to put this book on the back burner while I turn more attention to being coached by Christine.  When I have a reliable income (that I enjoy), I’ll buy the book for myself, my sister, my mom, my brother, and my boyfriend, as I know they all need more direction & clarity in their careers.

I did complete a creative writing exercise yesterday, so I will add that to my blog today.  Woo hoo!

Been reaching out and asking to help people almost everyday, per inspiration from The GiftI was really gung ho about it when I first completed the book, but about a week into helping people, I got really frustrated – for the majority of people, they either didn’t tell me they wanted, or they weren’t sure what they wanted.  Argh!  I even asked some people TWICE what they wanted (in separate emails), but got no response.  How weird.

Anyways, sorry this post is so late – I took a break last weekend from a week of hectic job hunting.  Will be more in-depth in my next post.

Next week (this week):

  1. Check craigslist everyday for writing & modeling jobs
  2. Find and reach out to other websites centered on film/movies, and offer my awesome writing services
  3. Diversify my writing portfolio every day
  4. Reach out and help at least one person a day (called “giving The Gift” in the book, The Gift)
  5. Figure out how to install Google Ad Sense on this blog (having trouble)
